Time Travel & Choices

Have you ever wanted to hit rewind and travel back in time? Perhaps you, like me, have made a few decisions that, if given the opportunity, you’d go back and make a few adjustments so you’d experience a different outcome.

I hate to break it to you, but a time machine has not yet been built that will allow us to return to the moment of poor decisions. It’s fun to imagine, though…

Image result for back to the future time machine

Strap yourself in, ladies and gentlemen! My name is Marty McFly and today we are headed back to 1988, the moment when you chose to ignore all the warning signs and blaze your own path to stupidity! On our way, we’ll be making pit stops in 1991 and 2015 so you can remedy your bad choices (and bad hair), ensuring the return to present-day 2017 will welcome you home to a cozy and wonderful life, free from all embarrassment and struggle.”

Nice thought, huh? Or is it?

As much as I sometimes entertain the thought of a rewind, these days I often think of the ways my decisions have shaped and molded me into the person I am in this moment. Maybe I’m gaining some wisdom in my old age…

Somehow, God has managed to take the mess that was (and often still is) me and work everything in harmony in ways I could certainly never imagine. I’m not the woman I am because I made good decisions my entire life… I am the woman I am because I faced adversity – sometimes caused by my own choices – stared it in the face, and then fought it with a fiery vengeance until I emerged the battered and bruised victor – well, most of the time.

I’m not recommending a life of making bad choices… not at all. However, the fact of the matter is that we all make them – sometimes unintentionally, sometimes because we just shrugged our shoulders and said “why not?”. God is amazing in that He works all those things together for our good, in spite of our own ridiculous selves.

“Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.”              —Philippians 4:8 MSG

What if, instead of focusing on all our mistakes and inadequacies, we make a choice to focus on how God wants to use those very things to shape and mold us into the people that can make an impact on others around us? What if we shared our experiences with others to encourage them and let them know they aren’t alone as they struggle with their own bad choices? What if…

  • …your broken marriage inspired perseverance?
  • …your drug addiction motivated someone to stay clean one more day?
  • …your struggle with a quick temper encouraged someone to extend grace?

The list goes on and on; it’s as long as our combined lists of inadequacies, failures, and shortcomings. Will you choose to encourage others by honestly sharing your experiences, or will you stuff them into a closet somewhere never to be brought again into the light of day?

Sorry, Mr. McFly… I won’t be taking that trip with you after all.

Love fiercely, my friends. Be good to one another and make today count.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tom
    Apr 29, 2017 @ 11:25:52

    Most excellently put.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

